May Day

Just Words

Today is International Workers’ Day. If I were in Italy now I’d probably be coming home from the May 1st demonstration. I started going when I was a child, with my grandpa. It was usually a clear Spring day, the red flags of the parties and the unions shining against the blue sky. Then I went with my high school friends, behind the student union’s van, signing, dancing, shouting.
Now I am a worker in a country without a holiday to celebrate the occasion, but perhaps if I were in Italy now I would not a job to celebrate. So I am grateful for those who fought so that I can have a good contract and good working hours. I am grateful to those who keep working for the betterment of worker’s rights, to those who fight against exploitation, to those who stand up for themselves and for their colleagues…

View original post 420 more words

Leave a Reply

